Starting the new year with the book, “The 21Day Financial Fast, by Michelle Singletary. I choose this book because, I usually partake in the well known Daniel fast, so I was intrigued by the title alone.

I’ve made several attempts at doing this in a round about way, but never thought of doing it as a fast. Every week a friend of mind and I would say, we were not going to spend money on food for breakfast and lunch everyday and it would last for two to three days and then we are back to spending unnecessarily, even when we had brought food from home. The excuse I would give myself is that I will buy something healthy. The apostle Paul said, “we need to be renewed in the spirit of our mind.” (Ephesians 4:23) Self-reliance can be unintentional, but detrimental! God has to be involved in every aspect of our lives especially our finances. Someone might say that’s a little extreme don’t you think? And you would be right, because I have wasted to much time and failed efforts of trying to figure things out with my limited knowledge and ability.

The author also talks about the discipline that it brings to limiting yourself to your necessities. Everything on sale is not something you necessarily need or need at the moment.
Going window shopping is only going to temp you to desire something you see that you may not need. Don’t get me wrong I don’t have it all together and far from it, but knowing is only half the battle; obedience is key!

Go the her website and check it out at http://www.michellesingletay.com for more details and the layout of the fast or purchase the book. I am expecting change, because I’m going to make the necessary sacrifices I need to get the results I want!

